About the Center for Teaching and Learning

MISSION
The primary mission of the Center for Teaching and Learning is to invigorate student learning by supporting innovative, dynamic teaching at the University of the Arts. The Center promotes the lively exchange of ideas concerning "the art of teaching" within our community of learners.

GOALS
The main goal of the Center is to enrich student learning. We do this by creating a common ground where faculty members join together from across the University to discuss teaching methods, find resources, explore new technologies, or simply connect regarding pedagogic inquiry. Through the Center, faculty members remain vital by reflecting upon and sharing their teaching experiences and philosophies.  

The Center aims to achieve the following:

  • To inspire student engagement through teaching inventiveness
  • To energize faculty members so they remain highly effective and stimulating in the classroom
  • To increase awareness of and respect for the scholarship of teaching and learning
  • To encourage collaboration across departmental and college lines
  • To facilitate initiatives, events, and faculty development opportunities that promote excellence in teaching and learning

SERVICES
To carry out its goals, the Center provides the following services:

  • Faculty orientation program
  • Faculty workshops/technology salons on various topics depending upon faculty interest
  • Events such as Course Stories focusing on innovative teaching strategies at the course level
  • Faculty conversations on cross-disciplinary subjects
  • An end-of-year event focused on teaching and learning
  • Instructional resources in conjunction with and supplementing the Librarys offerings

COMMITTEE FOR THE CENTER FOR TEACHING AND LEARNING

Christa DiMarco
Assistant Professor, Liberal Arts
cdimarco@uarts.edu

Mara Flamm
Director of International Student Services
mflamm@uarts.edu

Carol Graney
Associate Provost and Director of University Libraries
cgraney@uarts.edu

Michele Kishita
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Liberal Arts & Academic Counselor, Academic Support Services
mkishita@uarts.edu

Christopher Magee
Assistant Professor, Media Arts
cmagee@uarts.edu

Patricia M. Smith
Associate Professor, Printmaking
psmith@uarts.edu

Beth Sokolowski
Assistant Professor, Music Education
esokolowski@uarts.edu

Diane Walsh
Associate Professor, Writing for Film and Television
dwalsh@uarts.edu