Comprehensive Career Sites

STARTING POINTS
Quintessential Careers | http://quintcareers.com/index.html
A comprehensive job search site featuring industry-specific listings, job search advice, and sample cover letters and resumes.

FabJob | http://www.fabjob.com/
Publisher of numerous "FabJob Guides,"  ebooks about breaking into "dream" careers (e.g. how to become an art gallery owner, cartoonist, cake decorator, florist).  Also provides general career advice.

Colleg Grad Job Hunter | http://www.collegegrad.com/
Comprehensive job search site exclusively for college students and recent graduates; provides job listings and advice.

The Riley Guide | http://www.rileyguide.com/
A free job listing aggregator.

Employment Spot | http://www.employmentspot.com/
Job listings, searchable by state, city, or industry.

Using the Internet to Find  a Job | http://www.oakton.edu/resource/stuserv/netjobs
An online guide from Oakton Community College's Office of Career Services; includes information about how to craft an electronic resume and how to conduct research about prospective employers.  Though the guide is a little dated, the advice is still helpful and most of the links are functional.


RESUME/COVER LETTER ASSISTANCE
Resume and Cover Letter Resources for Job Seekers | http://www.quintcareers.com/resres.html
A collection of resume resources from across the web, compiled by Quinessential Careers.  Provides links to sample resumes, writing tutorials, and quizzes. 

Resume Help | http://www.resume-help.org/
Over 100 sample resumes, spaning a range of industries and professiona levels.

Career Lab | http://www.careerlab.com/letters/default.htm
Sample cover letters and cover letter advice from an executive career strategy firm.


CAREER EXPLORATION & COMPANY RESEARCH
O*NET Online | http://online.onetcenter.org/
A primary source of occupational information; its database describes the particular skills, knowledge, and abilities required for hundredes of occupations. Also provides access to career exploration tools, assessment instruments for workers and students looking to find or change careers.

Occupational Outlook Handbook | http://www.bls.gov/oco/
Compiled by the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the occupational handbook describes hundreds of jobs in great detail, including the training and education needed, earnings, and expected job prospects.  The handbook also provides job search tips and links to information abou the job market in each state.

Vault Reports | http://www.vaultreports.com/
A comprehensive career site that provides employer profiles and rankings, industry blogs, job listings, and message boards.

Wet Feet | http://www.wetfeet.com/
A comprehensive career site that provides career advice, company rankings, MBA programs information, sample resumes and cover letter.

Manta | http://www.manta.com/
A clearinghouse for information on small companies; includes profiles of more than 64 million businesses and organizations.

CareerTV | http://www.careertv.com/
Asocial media company that provides career advice videos and company profiles.

Glassdoor.com | http://www.glassdoor.com/index.htm
Provides information about companies submitted anonymously by current employees.  Includes salary information and interview questions.

Salary Calculator | http://www2.homefair.com/calc/salcalc.html
Provides average salaries for a thousand job descriptions in 300 U.S. cities.

Pay Scale | http://www.payscale.com/
Provide a free salary report based on job title, location, education, skills and experience.

Salary Expert | http://www.salaryexpert.com/ 
Provides a number of career tools, including a cost of living calculator, career salary potential reports, and the ability to search jobs by salary.

Salary.com | http://www.salary.com/
Provides average salaries for thousands of job descriptions, taking company size and education into account.


SELF-ASSESSMENT
The Kiersey Temperament Sorter | http://www.advisorteam.com/user/ktsintro.asp
One of the most widely used pesonality instruments in the world;  links to a personality quiz and to a list of recommended careers for each personality type.

Future proof your career | http://www.futureproofyourcareer.com/
A career quiz based on the Kiersey Temperament Sorter.

LiveCareer Interest Test | http://www.livecareer.com/

Quick Work Preference Inventory | http://www.careerperfect.com/content/career-planning-work-preference-inventory
A quick inventory that will help determine your preferred work style.  Useful when beginning to brainstorm potential career paths.

Fee based sites
Based on the Holland career choice theory, which divides occupations into six major types:
The Career Key  | http://www.careerkey.org/
The Self-Directed Search | http://www.self-directed-search.com/


OPPORTUNITIES & LISTINGS
Nation-Wide Job Listings:

Indeed | http://www.indeed.com/
A job listing aggregator

Craigslist | http://www.craigslist.org/

HotJobs | http://www.hotjobs.com/

Monster.com | http://www.monster.com/

Career Builder | http://www.careerbuilder.com/

Region or Industry Specific Job Listings:
JobCircle | http://www.jobcircle.com/
Job openings in the mid-Atlantic region.

Phillyburbs| http://jobs.phillyburbs.com/ 
Job openings in the Philadelphia-area suburbs.

Idealist |  http://www.quintcareers.com/resres.html
Job listings and volunteer opportunities at non-profit organizations.

Opportunity Knocks | http://www.opportunityknocks.org/ 
Job listings and volunteer opportunities at non-profit organizations.

USAJobs | http://www.usajobs.com/
Job openings in the federal government.


This web site contains links to other Web sites not under the control of the University of the Arts or the Career Services Office, and we are not responsible for the contents of any linked site. The Career Services Office provides these links only as a convenience. UArts and the Career Services Office assume no liability for acts or omissions by third parties or for material supplied by them.